Fear not, for I bring muffins!**

Posted on August 2, 2011

1



This post is copied verbatim, from my old blog, and was originally written close to Christmas, hence the reference to Christmas, and is not just me being weird.

So…I’ve been a little delinquent in my postings.  No excuse really just been swamped with real life, and the way it drops everything on you at once sometimes.  It also has a little bit to do with the fact that my poor little camera is on its last legs.  I am not sure what is wrong with it, but it makes the most mournful noises when I am trying to take a picture, sucks batteries dry super quick, and takes forever to focus.  This of course means I haven’t been able to take pictures while I am cooking.

You’re sad, I know, I am sad too.  I am glad we can share our feelings like this.

It’s one thing to add 30 extra minutes or so to my cooking in order to snap pictures, it’s another to add a couple of hours because it takes me 20 shots to get one usable picture.   I am not completely unprepared, I do have a backlog of pictures with recipes, but only a few that have more detailed pictures, and one or two with only finished dish pictures, so I am trying to space them out enough to hold things over until I can get my camera fixed or (hopefully) get a new camera.   Hopefully after that point I can get to posting recipes and what not on a more regular basis…or you know I could fill the time between with more “stuff” so I can do more than 3 or 4 posts in a month.  Not having a working camera right now is kind of sad though, because I love baking, and this times of the year I do some fantastical baking…maybe I’ll just have to recreate Christmas later.

With all that said I do come baring the gift of muffins.  Carrot apple muffins to be exact.  These are awesome, I say this not out of bias for my cooking, but out of the sheer fact that I hated carrot cake and carrot muffins until I made these.  They are so moist, sweet, but not too much, with a lot of good spices like ginger and cloves, then topped with a browned butter glaze so good you’ll never want to use a cream cheese frosting again for as long as you live…well maybe not because cream cheese is awesome and who would want to live a life without it?

Okay, anyway…on to the muffins.   We start with some carrots..

..and some apples

Naked apples…how indecent!

Grate the carrots and chop up the apples.

Mix together the dry ingredients

Add the wet, then the carrots and apples.

Bake…and then you get muffins!

Those are nice muffins, but they look lonely, sad…they need a friend.  We’ll just have to fix this now won’t we.

First lets melt some butter

Melt butter you say?  Yes…melt butter  I say…melt it real good…

Melt it till it starts to get out of control and bubbly.

Melt it! Melt it until it goes brown…

All wonderfully nutty,  toffe-ish brown

All this browned butter needs in its life is something sweet…. like some powdered sugar for instance?

We could add  little vanilla, and a few splashes of milk too!

A good stir.

Mmmmm….someone stop me before I lick the screen!

Now it’s ready to be friends with the muffins.

Spiced carrot and apple muffins + Browned butter glaze = BFF!

Spiced Carrot and Apple Muffins

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease muffin cups, or use muffin papers.

2c. flour

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp salt

1-1/4 c sugar

2 c shredded carrot

3 eggs

1 apple diced

1 c. unsweetened applesauce.

In bowl mix together all the dry ingredients.  Add eggs, and applesauce and mix until just blended together.  Fold in carrots and apple.  Fill muffin tins about 2/3 full with batter (either using muffin papers, or grease the cups) andd bake for 20-25 minutes.  Let cool completely and then top with glaze.

Browned Butter Glaze

From:  Martha Stewart

4 oz (1 stick) of butter

2 c. powdered sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

2-4 Tbs whole milk

Melt butter over medium high heat stirring, or swirling the pan constantly until the butter has turned a light to medium golden brown.  Remove from heat immediately, and continue swirling/stirring as the butter will continue to brown a little from the residual heat of the pan.   Pour the butter into the sugar, add vanilla, and mix well adding a little milk until you’ve reached the desired consistency.  Let it cool for 5-10 minutes before frosting muffins or cake

* I halved this glaze recipe and had more than enough for the above recipe of muffins.

**Originally posted 12/19/2010 on seeiteatit.wordpress.com

Posted in: Eats!, Pictures!