My favorite roasted veggie side in the history of EVER!

Posted on June 6, 2011

1



I love vegetables!     I grew up with my grandparents who had a large garden in the backyard, so I was exposed to all kinds of veggies, and was probably one of the few kids I knew who got excited about eating them.  Spinach? Yes!  Mustard greens?  Please!  Squash? Yes, yes!   Okra?  Yes, please, and can I have seconds?  I love some more than others, sure, but even if you were to give me my least favorite vegetable, I’d probably eat it.    This brings me to the parsnips.  A lot of people hate parsnips, and I guess looking at it objectively it is one of the more unusual tasting vegetables.  A little sweet, a little peppery, almost like a carrot, but not quite.  However, when you add in flavors that are a little salty, and savory, and cook the parsnips so that the natural sugars can caramelize…it’s like…it’s like…well it’s darned tasty.

I didn’t take a lot of picture of this, because…well it’s basically just cutting veggies, and tossing it with some stuff, and putting it on a pan, and I figured no one needed a bunch of picture of that.

I start off with some potatoes, and parsnips.  I like the white potatoes for this since the skin is really thin.

I peel the parsnips, cut it into three to four even chunks, split the chunks lengthwise, and cut them down to 1-2 inch chunks from that.  I leave the skin on the potatoes, and cut those into 1-2 inch chunks as well.

Mix together olive oil, chopped garlic, a little salt, and some rosemary.

Normally I prefer to use fresh rosemary, but I was out, so I went with the dried, which works just fine as well.

Next I did this.

Wait a minute…that’s not a vegetable!

Yeah..I went there…

I soooooo went there.

I tossed the veggies, and bacon with the olive oil mixture, making sure everything thing was well coated, then sprinkled it with black pepper.  I stuck it in a 400 degree oven for 40-50 minutes, making sure to give it a good stir halfway through the cooking time so that everything  would brown evenly, also so it won’t stick to the pan.

The results are this:

So, crispy.  So, yummy!

Come on…give a poor parsnip a chance!

Rosemary Garlic Roasted Potatoes, and Parsnips with Bacon

5-6 Yukon Gold potatoes, scrubbed, with skins left on, cut into 1-2 inch chunks

5-6 Parsnips, medium-sized (the large ones tend to be “woody” in texture) peeled, and cut into 1-2 inch chunks

1/8-1/4 c. olive oil (you don’t need a lot, but enough to evenly coat everything so the amount may vary)

3-4 sprigs of fresh rosemary leaves, finely chopped, or about 2 Tbs of dried

4-5 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp salt (I err on the side of under salting this because of the bacon)

6-8 strips of bacon cut into bits

Pepper to taste

Pre heat oven to 400. Take a little of your olive oil and brush it on a baking sheet, or you can line it with parchment paper. Mix olive oil, rosemary, salt, and garlic together. Cut potatoes and parsnips into bite sized chunks, toss with the olive oil mixture, and bacon. Spread out on baking sheet, and season with pepper. Bake for 40-50 minutes, making sure to stir the veg halfway through cooking, until veggies are tender and crispy brown on the outside.

* Another in a series of recipes from an old blog of mine, originally posted in October of last year.

Originally posted on 10/23/2010 on seeiteatit.wordpress.com

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Eats!