The Brisket that started it all.*

Posted on May 25, 2011

2



*This is the first of the few recipes I am transferring to this blog from my old one.  I originally wrote this last year, and have just copied the text as it was.  Please forgive my lame attempts at humor…I can’t help myself…I am a dork.

A few weeks ago I was making dinner, well prepping for dinner anyway, and thought, you know I should take pictures as I do this.  I was suffering from a bad sinus cold at the time, and had probably taken too much decongestant, which would explain where this delirium came from.   I grabbed my little point and shoot out of it’s hidey hole intending to snap just a few pictures, and I did…104 of them to be exact.  It was not easy.  I don’t have a tripod, so it’s usually one handed, and sometimes shaky.  I tried to get artsy and do close ups when clearly I am not ready for such nonsense ,and neither is my camera for that matter.  All in all though it turned out ok, but more importantly dinner was delicious.  So without further ado…The Brisket.

I started off with about 5 lbs of brisket.  Isn’t it purdy?

Next I need to make a rub for this bad boy so I mixed up some garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, New Mexico chili powder, Ancho chili powder, salt, brown sugar, white sugar, and pepper.

Sweet action shot!

I mixed all the spices really well then began rubbing it on my meat….that sounds dirty.

I rubbed it in reeaaallll good…I’ll stop now…I promise.

Seriously though,  the spices need to cover every inch of the brisket.  Ideally it should then be wrapped in some Saran wrap, and sit over night in the fridge so the spices can sink into the meat more.  I however forgot to do that the night before and had to do it right before I put it in the oven, and it still turned out awesomely flavored.

Next I sliced an onion

Placed it on and around my brisket.

Here is where things go awry and I try to take macro pictures of the food.   FAIL!!

Then I had to crack open a beer.

For the brisket…not me…I swear…it was for the brisket.

Although…it only takes about 2/3 of that beer, so what anyone else chooses to do with the remaining 1/3 is their business.

Finally the brisket needs to wrapped tightly in foil…I added another sweet action shot of me putting on the foil to show you how it’s done.  It’s awesome…don’t deny it.

Here it is ready to go into the oven,  to cook, and make my house smell wondrous all day long.

After about 7-8 hours, it comes out like this:

Fork tender, with a little bit of char…basically like buttah!

Seasoned Brisket

5lb brisket, trimmed, but leave a little fat on.

1/4 cup each of:

Garlic Powder

Onion Powder

Paprika

New Mexico Chili Powder*

Ancho Chili Powder*

Salt

Granulated Sugar

Brown Sugar

Black Pepper

1 med. onion sliced

8oz (about 2/3 of a bottle) of beer or beef broth  (I have an affinity towards the German beers, the darker ales, or Guinness, but any kind will do)

Mix it all together breaking up the lumps of brown sugar as you mix. Then rub it all over every inch of the brisket, wrap tightly in cling wrap, and put in the fridge overnight or up to 24 hours.  When ready to cook, unwrap and place your brisket fat side up in the pan.
Slice up one onion, and place it all around the brisket. Pour in the beer (or broth) Cover it tightly in foil, and cook at 250 for 7-8 hours, taking the foil off for the last hour or two of cooking so the brisket browns (I sometimes will turn on the broiler for a couple of minutes just before I take it out of the oven if I want more of a char crust). If you have a crockpot big enough you can put everything in there, and cook it on low all day long. I tend to brown my brisket in a hot pan though if I am going to cook it in the crock pot.  Of course this works well cooked in a smoker, over indirect heat, for 8 hours as well.

* Any kind of chili powder will do, these were just the kind I had on hand.

Originally posted on  10/23/2010 on seeiteatit.wordpress.com

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Eats!