Homemade BBQ Sauce*

Posted on May 25, 2011

4



* This is another recipe from my old blog…this one has a lot of pictures, I don’t remember it having so many pictures…it’s not that bad though, at least I don’t think so.  Anyway, as I said in the last post I am just copying this word for word, so the cheeze-tastic humor stands.

I recently started making my own BBQ sauce, because the anchovy/fish paste a lot of commercial BBQ sauces use for flavor has been causing my husband problems. I went through many recipes online before I kind of created a mish mash of  a few of the recipes I found.  I’ve come up with these measurements as a guideline of what to initially start with, then I usually end up adjusting it until it tastes like I want it, which for me it smoky, with a little bit of tart, a little bit of sweet, and a little kick of spice.  However even without tinkering with it as I cook it, it’s still a very good sauce.

First things, first, I start with one whole, small onion (or half of a large one) roughly chopped.

Gosh…that is a really bad picture..it’s gets a little better I promise…sort of.

Anyway…next I smashed up 3-5 cloves of garlic.

Chop them up good.  Wow!  That was a fancy technical term I used there.

You’re also going to need some of this:

Yeah…that’s a whole red pepper.  Fear not though, a little goes a long way, the tiniest smidgen will do.

Then mince it as finely as you can

Of course if you’re smart you’ll have jar of crushed red pepper flakes hanging out in one of your cabinets, and you can use that.  I R not Smrt sometimes. 😦 :p

Now on to your spices.  I am going to measure out some ground mustard

New Mexico Chili Powder

Ancho Chili Powder

Like I said before, whatever chili powder you have on hand works just fine, and you don’t need these specific kinds.  This is just what I have on hand because my local grocery store has a suh-weet bulk spice section, and I have a compulsion to buy spices on the cheap.  I probably need help for that.

Okay…next we add in some brown sugar

We are also going to need some butter

Some vinegar

Lemon juice….I went the fresh route..

Which while tasty, has it’s draw backs.

Stupid seeds!

Of course we can’t forget…

*SQUIRT*

Now lets get things cooking, shall we?

Put the butter, onion, garlic, and red pepper into a medium sauce pan like so…

See, I tried to do one of those food close ups again.  Ehhh…this one’s not too bad.  \

Okay…yeah it is.

Put the heat on medium-medium low, and simmer until the onions are translucent, then add in the lemon juice, and vinegar.

The spices.

and the ketchup

Whisk everything together until it’s well blended, then add in salt, pepper, Worcestershire, and liquid smoke to taste.

You can leave it chunky as it is, or blend it smooth.

Let this simmer on medium/medium-low for at least 30 minutes.  I personally prefer to put it on low, and let simmer for a couple of hours, as the flavors change a bit as you cook it.    This will keep for a week or more in the fridge.

1 whole small onion (or half of a large one) diced.
1/4 c butter
3-5 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 Tbs ground mustard
1 heaping tsp of New Mexico chili powder
1 heaping tsp ancho chili powder
1/4 c brown sugar
1/4 c vinegar**
1/2 c lemon juice
1-1/2 c water
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
2 c ketchup
liquid smoke, Worcestershire, salt and pepper to taste.

Saute onions, garlic, and red pepper in the butter on medium for about 5-10 minutes or until the onions are translucent. Add the water, vinegar, lemon juice, spices, ketchup, and liquid smoke, stir to mix, turn heat to medium low-low cover and simmer for at least 30 minutes. Adjust the seasoning to your taste.

** You can use either cider or distilled vinegar.   Cider vinegar tends to lend a sweeter, almost caramel flavor to the sauce.  Personally don’t like that flavor with beef.    However the extra sweetness goes well with chicken, and pork .   The distilled vinegar gives the sauce the necessary tart hints but lets the sauce remain bold, and goes really well with beef.

 

Originally posted on 10/23/2010 on seeiteatit.wordpress.com

Posted in: Eats!